Guest Post: The Night Mark by Tiffany Reisz + Giveaway

Posted March 28, 2017 by collecto in Guest Post, Release day / 2 Comments

Guest Post: The Night Mark by Tiffany Reisz + GiveawayThe Night Mark by Tiffany Reisz
Find the Author: Website, Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads
Published by MIRA on March 28th 2017
Genres: Historical, Paranormal, Romance, Time Travel
Purchase links: AmazoniTunesAudible
Add to Goodreads
Source: The Author
five-stars

She has nothing to live for in the present, but finds there's something worth dying for in the past…

From Tiffany Reisz, the international bestselling storyteller behind The Bourbon Thief and The Original Sinners series, comes an enthralling new novel about a woman swept away by the tides who awakens to find herself in 1921, reunited with the husband she's been mourning for four years. Fans of Kate Morton and Diana Gabaldon will fall in love with the mystery, romance and beauty of an isolated South Carolina lighthouse, where a power greater than love works its magic.

Amazon US – Amazon Aus – Amazon Ca – Amazon UK

Audible – Barnes & Noble – Book Depository – Books-A-Million – iBooks

Divider

Where did Tiffany Reisz find inspiration to write The Night Mark

I have to make myself take vacations. I don’t like the thought of them because they mean I have to leave my cats and my desk where I write books behind. I have to remind myself to take vacations because it when on vacation forced to leave my desk behind that I get my book ideas. While on a beach in Miami (last minute flights for only $250! Woohoo!) I had the idea for The Bourbon Thief. While driving home from a quick trip to Asheville, North Carolina, I came up with The Headmaster. And while on a two-dollar bus tour of Savannah, Georgia, I got the idea for The Night Mark.

There’s a statue, you see, in Savannah. A statue of a woman with a dog playing at her feet. The woman is holding a sort of flag in her hands. Her name is Florence Martus and she was the sister of the lighthouse keeper at Cockspur Island. According to local legend, our two dollar tour bus driver told us, Florence fell in love with a sailor as a young woman and got engaged to him. Then the sailor shipped out, as sailors do, and Florence waited for him to return to her. She waited so eagerly that she would greet every ship that came into the Port of Savannah by waving a white towel at the ship by day and a lantern by night, all in the hopes that her lover was aboard. Sadly, he never returned to her.

When my husband Andrew and I heard this story from our tour guide we both looked at each other because we have the writer brain that loves finding plot twists wherever we can. What if, I said, there was no sailor? What if she just didn’t want to get married and she made up the sailor as a sort of “Canadian girlfriend” to fend off suitors? What if she was secretly married to someone else? What if she never wanted to marry at all? What if she was in love with a woman and in that time couldn’t tell anyone? What if the lighthouse keeper wasn’t really her brother but a man she’d run away with because who knows why? What if? What if? What if? The writer brain of mine went through a hundred possible scenarios. The idea was so exciting I knew I had a book on my hands, a story of a woman and a lighthouse and a secret lover. And that book is called The Night Mark, out March 28th.

Divider

Divider

a Rafflecopter giveaway

five-stars

2 responses to “Guest Post: The Night Mark by Tiffany Reisz + Giveaway

  1. Emma

    My favorite of her books will always be The Mistress! The Original Sinners series is without a doubt my favorite series of all time. All of her writing is phenomenal, though. I’m currently working my way through The Bourbon Thief.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge