Claudia’s Review: Brew or Die by Caroline Fardig

Posted April 5, 2017 by Claudia Alfaro in Blog Tour, Book Reviews / 0 Comments

Claudia’s Review: Brew or Die by Caroline FardigBrew or Die by Caroline Fardig
Find the Author: Website, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, Amazon
Published by Self Published on April 25th, 2017
Genres: Mystery
Purchase links: Amazon
Add to Goodreads
Source: NetGalley

Inspired by her past sleuthing successes, Juliet Langley has officially joined the ranks of Nashville’s licensed private investigators. Her best friend, Pete Bennett, doesn’t worry that her detective work might interfere with her full-time job running his coffeehouse, Java Jive. He just wishes she would spend her free time rejoining the local music scene instead of tailing cheating spouses. But when one of Java Jive’s baristas, Shane, asks Juliet to look into the suspicious death of his fiancée, Pete encourages her to plow full steam ahead.

Since his fiancée died on the job, Shane suspects that her party-planning colleagues are up to something criminal—and will do anything to keep it quiet. After Juliet recruits Pete to go undercover with her at a wedding showcase, she discovers that white lace and black satin have a way of hiding big, fat secrets.

If that weren’t enough to fill her plate, her latest P.I. job has her crossing paths with her ex, Detective Ryder Hamilton. They’re barely on speaking terms, but to solve the case, they might have to cooperate. No matter where Juliet goes, she’s brewing up trouble.

We received this book/audiobook for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect our opinion of the book or the content of our review.

Amazon US

Amazon UK


Book Review: 4.5 stars


As I mentioned on my previous reviews, A JAVA JIVE MYSTERY is one of my favorite cozy mystery stories. Caroline Fardig takes us on this amazing adventure with our favorite redhead, Juliet Langley. BREW OR DIE is a ride of mystery, humor, suspense that will keep you guessing who the guilty ones are since the first dead body found.

In this book Juliet Langley (aka Jules) has accepted her friend Maya’s invitation to join her as a Private Investigator. Now with her PI certificate, she will be able to do some sleuth officially. But as we know, Jules gets involved in  some weird and funny situations, so it’s not out of the ordinary for her to find herself, on her first assignment, with someone was getting stabbed.  On her second assignment, she has to investigate some company, about the income of their money, some illegal transactions, and if it wasn’t enough for her, Shane who works for her at “Java Jive”, asked her and Pete to help her solve her fiancee’s murder, so Pete & Jules are back to doing some sleuthing in order to help Shane. Both will have adventures and will risk their lives more than once. So she won’t have too much time, between her job at Java Jive, her PI job and helping Pete to find who murdered Shane’s fiancee, she barely has time to sleep some hours.

About the characters, Jules is now dating John Stafford, the police ‘cold case investigator’, who is good to her, but there is no fire there. It’s lacking “tut spark”. If you compare her relationship to the one she had with her ex, Ryder Hamilton, (who is now back to ask for forgiveness), it is lacking in all aspects. She knows it but she still thinks he is good for her. Pete is dating Brooke, who was a victim in A WHOLE LATTE MURDER (3rd book of the series) and he also has some doubts about his relationship. After all what happens during their investigation, Pete and Jules will question their love life and they will have to decide if they continue with their current partners, or stay single.

I think this is the last book of the series because it has an epilogue, that didn’t happen before. I enjoyed this novel very much, but I’m not that happy with the ending. It’s not a bad one per say, but I would have wanted more for Jules, she deserves more because I love her character. Overall, this was a very fun series. I would recommend it but you have to start with the first book: DEATH  BEFORE DECAF and read them in order.






Claudia Alfaro

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge